وظيفة البرلمان الرقابية

صورة AGORA administrator

تعتبر الرقابة البرلمانية حجراً أساساً في البرلمانات الديمقراطية، إذ تشكل مؤشراً على الحكم الجيد. وهي تهدف إلى مساءلة السلطة التنفيذية حول أعمالها، وإلى ضمان تنفيذ السياسات بطريقة فعّالة. فالرقابة البرلمانية الدقيقة للسلطة التنفيذية مؤشر على سلامة الحكم. وإلى جانب وظيفته التشريعية، يتمكّن البرلمان من تحقيق توازن القوى وتعزيز دوره كمدافع عن المصلحة العامة. ففي الأنظمة الديمقراطية القديمة والحديثة يتمتع البرلمان بالسلطة التي تخوّله الإشراف على الحكومة من خلال عدد من الأدوات والآليات غالباً ما يتم تحديدها من خلال الدستور ونصوص تنظيمية كالأنظمة الداخلية للبرلمان. وتقوم الطريقة التي يمكن للبرلمان من خلالها استخدام صلاحياته الرقابية على وجود إطار قانوني يعزز موقفه كمؤسسة رقابية ويضمن له سلطته واستقلاليته في إطار النظام السياسي.
لذا، عندما يكون إصلاح بنية النظام السياسي لزيادة القدرة الرقابية للبرلمان من خلال الدستور غير ممكن دائماً، يمكن للبرلمانات في بعض الأحيان تحسين قدراتها الرقابية عبر إصلاح أنظمتها الخاصة. فعلى سبيل المثال، يكون من المفيد بالنسبة إلى أنظمة اللجان أن تخصص لجنة واحدة لكل وزارة في الحكومة. فإن سمحت الميزانية البرلمانية بهذه الإصلاحات، عادة ما يقع تنفيذها ضمن نطاق سلطة البرلمان.

أهداف الرقابة البرلمانية
تقوم البرلمانات بوظيفة رقابية بغية:

- تأمين شفافية عمل السلطة التنفيذية وانفتاحها. إذ يسلط البرلمانيون الضوء على أعمال الحكومة من خلال مجال عام تتم في سياقه مناقشة سياسات وأعمال الحكومة، إلى جانب التدقيق فيها وعرضها أمام الرأي العام;
- مساءلة السلطة التنفيذية. إذ تسمح الرقابة البرلمانية بالتدقيق فيما إذا كانت سياسات الحكومة تطبق وإذا كانت تؤدي الأهداف المرجوّة;
- ضمان المحاسبة المالية. إذ يدقق البرلمان في الإنفاق الحكومي ويصادق عليه من خلال منع الإسراف في نفقات الخدمات التي تمولها الدولة. ويهدف ذلك إلى تحسين إقتصاد وفعالية نفقات الحكومة,
- تعزيز حكم القانون. إذ على البرلمان أن يحمي حقوق المواطنين من خلال مراقبة السياسات ودراسة أي إمكانية للإساءة إلى السلطة أو أي سلوك تعسّفي أو أي عمل غير قانوني أو غير دستوري تقوم به الحكومة.

آليات ومنهجيات الرقابة البرلمانية

تمتلك البرلمانات مجموعة من الأدوات التي تمكّنها من إتمام عملية المراقبة. وتتضمن أكثر هذه الأدوات شيوعاً: الأسئلة الموجهة إلى الوزراء (مكتوبة أو شفهية)، الإستجواب، والتصويت على حجب الثقة، فيما تتضمن الآليات الأخرى منهجيات مرتبطة بمراقبة الموازنة والمحاكمة وإمكانية البرلمان إنشاء لجان مخصصة، ولجان التحقيقات، أو مكتب أمين المظالم. وفي ما يلي وصف لعديد من الأدوات:

  1. تشكل جلسات الإستماع، إن في الجلسات العامة أو في إجتماعات اللجان، أداة هامة جداً للبرلمان تمكّنه من الحصول على المعلومات المتعلقة بسياسات أو مواضيع محددة. وعادة ما تقوم غالبية البرلمانات بجلسات إستماع، إلا أنه لكل من هذه البرلمانات قدرة محددة على إجبار المواطنين للإدلاء بشهاداتهم.

  2. أما بالنسبة إلى التصويت على حجب الثقة، أو الإقتراح بتوجيه اللوم، فهو اقتراح يقدمه البرلمانيون وينتج عنه إما سحب ثقة البرلمان في الحكومة أو في أحد وزرائها أو منحها هذه الثقة. وعندما يحجب البرلمان الثقة عن الحكومة، عادة ما تقدم هذه الأخيرة استقالتها أو تسعى إلى حل البرلمان. وفي بعض الدول يؤدي سحب الثقة إلى عملية يطلب فيها رئيس الدولة إما إستقالة الحكومة أو حل البرلمان. وعندما تسحب الحكومة ثقتها من وزير واحد، عادة ما يقدم هذا الأخير استقالته، علماً أن هناك العديد من الآليات التي يتم التصويت على حجب الثقة في سياقها.

  3. وفي ما يتعلق بالاستجواب فهو عبارة عن عملية يلجأ إليها البرلمانيون للحصول على تبرير حول سياسة معينة من عضو في الحكومة أو، في بعض البلدان، من كافة أعضاء الحكومة. وقد ينتج عن هذه العملية نقاش موسع حول السياسة المحددة، أو تصويت مع أو ضد المسألة المطروحة. ومن الممكن أيضاً أن يلي الاستجواب اقتراحاً بتوجيه اللوم.

  4. وتستخدم الأسئلة البرلمانية عامة بصفتها أداة رقابية، فهذه الأسئلة تهدف إلى توضيح سياسات الحكومة أو مناقشتها، وقد تؤدي إلى استجواب في حال لم يتم التوصل إلى إجابة مرضية. وبغية الإشراف على السلطة التنفيذية بشكل سليم، على أعضاء البرلمان أن يدركوا جيداً سياسات السلطة التنفيذية ووزاراتها. كما أن إجابات الحكومة على أسئلة البرلمان قد تؤدي إلى نشر معلومات قيمة جداً. وعادة ما يتم طرح الأسئلة كتابياً أو شفهياً، على الرغم من أن جلسة الأسئلة والأجوبة الشفهية من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى شحن الأجواء والسماح بالأخذ والرد بين الطرفين. من هنا فإن تنظيم مثل هذه الجلسات ضروري جداً لضمان الرقابة البرلمانية الفعّالة.

  5. أما بالنسبة إلى لجان التحقيقات فهي عادة لجان برلمانية مؤقتة أو لجان أنشأت للقيام بتحقيقات دقيقة حول مواضيع محددة ذات أهمية عامة. وعادة ما تحظى هذه اللجان بقدرة الوصول إلى المعلومات أكثر من اللجان الأخرى. وقد تتضمن صلاحياتها استدعاء الشهود للإدلاء بشهاداتهم مع أداء القسم، ومواجهة شاهد مع الآخر، وطلب أو أخذ مستندات، إلى جانب الأمر بالقيام بالأبحاث، وتنظيم زيارات ميدانية وغيرها من الصلاحيات. ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن بعض الدول قد تعطي هذه اللجان الصلاحيات عينها التي يحظى بها القاضي الذي يقوم بتحقيقات قضائية. وتعتبر لجان التحقيق من الأدوات الرقابية الشائعة في البرلمانات حول العالم، وقد تستخدم للتحقيق في قضايا كبرى كالفساد وسوء استخدام السلطة.

  6. وتشكّل الرقابة على الموازنة أداة يلجأ إليها البرلمانيون لتأمين المحاسبة المالية. ففي العديد من الدول يمكن لأعضاء البرلمان أن يعدلوا الموازنة أو حتى أن يصيغوها بأنفسهم. وحتى إذا لم يردّ البرلمان رفض سياسات السلطة التنفيذية، تشكل القدرة على تغيير أولويات نفقات السلطة التنفيذية آلية أخرى للرقابة. إلا أن القوانين المالية الأساسية أو غيرها من القوانين التي تحكم الطريقة التي يراقب فيها البرلمانيون الموازنة من شأنها أن تحد من التغييرات التي يمكن لأعضاء البرلمان هؤلاء أن يقوموا بها على الموازنة.

  7. وتسهل المؤسسات العليا لمراجعة الحسابات، مثل مراجع الحسابات العام أو هيئة مراجعة الحسابات (في دول الكومنولث)، أو ديوان المحاسبة (في الدول الفرنكوفونية) عملية مراقبة الموازنة، فهي تلعب دور "المراقب" وتنقل ما تتوصل إليه إما علناً أو مباشرة إلى البرلمان. وتدير مؤسسات التدقيق العليا هذه كيفية استخدام الحكومة للمحفظة العامة وتبليغ البرلمان بملاحظاتها. وفي دول الكومنولث، يقدم مراجع الحسابات العام تقريراً إلى لجنة الحسابات العامة التي تدقق في هذا التقرير وترفع توصياتها بعد ذلك.

  8. وفي معظم الدول يعيّن البرلمان أمراء المظالم للقيام بتحقيقات السلطات العامة بناءً على شكاوى أو طلبات البرلمان. وعادة ما يدقق أمراء المظالم لمعرفة ما إذا كان عمل الإدارات أو الإجراءات المخالفة تتوافق مع مبادئ الحكم السليم. من هنا، هم يلعبون دوراً هاماً في دراسة شفافية وانفتاح الحكومة. ويحاول أمراء المظالم أن يجدوا حلولاً عملية للمشاكل التي يتولوها، فيقومون بالمصالحة بين الشعب والسلطات.

  9. وفي القوانين الداخلية لبعض البرلمانات يتم تأمين اللجان الدائمة المختصة للإشراف على الحكومة بشكل تلقائي في ما يتعلق بالأمور الحساسة جداً مثل الأمن القومي والدفاع وسياسات المشتريات العسكرية. وتعتبر القدرة على مراجعة أسماء المعيّنين في السلطة التنفيذية والموافقة عليها من السلطات التي تسمح للبرلمانيين بالتدقيق في المعينين في المراكز العليا في السلطة التنفيذية والقضائية وما إلى ذلك.

تعزيز وظيفة البرلمان الرقابية

من المهم جداً بالنسبة إلى الإطارين المؤسساتي والقانوني للبرلمان تشجيع الأعضاء على استخدام صلاحياتهم الرقابية بفعالية تامّة. وإلى جانب تجهيز أدوات الرقابة، على هذا الإطار أن يؤمن استقلالية المؤسسة البرلمانية وحصانة أعضاء البرلمان. فهذه الحماية تسمح لأعضاء البرلمان بتحدي السلطة التنفيذية دون خوف من التعرض لشخصهم. إلى جانب ذلك، على الإطار القانوني للبرلمان أن يتضمن حقوقاً مثل الوصول إلى المعلومات التي تعطيهم القدرة على القيام بتحقيقات تصب في قلب الحكومة.

حتى في سياق هذه الوظيفة، يمكن لطبيعة العلاقة بين البرلمانيين والمواطنين أن تؤثر بشكل كبير على دوافع أعضاء البرلمان لتأدية وظيفتهم الرقابية بشكل فعّال. على سبيل المثال، في الأنظمة الإنتخابية التي يحدد فيها القادة السياسيون من يحتل المناصب العليا في اللائحة الإنتخابية للحزب قد يدفع ذلك بالأشخاص الذين يحتلون المقاعد الأخرى بالعمل دون فعالية. وعندما يعتمد إعادة انتخاب أعضاء البرلمان بشكل كامل على قرار قادة الأحزاب، فمن غير المألوف أن يخرجوا عن قرار قادة أحزابهم. أما في الأنظمة التي يحدد فيها الحزب مرشحيه وفق التصويت، فذلك قد يسمح لعضو البرلمان بالتمتع بحرية أكبر لمحاسبة حزبه وقادة الحكومة.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Parliamentary Function of Oversight

AGORA administrator's picture

The parliamentary oversight function is one of the cornerstones of democracy. Oversight is a means for holding the executive accountable for its actions and for ensuring that it implements policies in accordance with the laws and budget passed by the parliament. The robust monitoring of the executive by the parliament is an indicator of good governance. Besides the parliament’s legislative function, it is through oversight that the parliament can ensure a balance of power and assert its role as the defender of people’s interests.

In both long-established and new democracies, the parliament is given the power to oversee the government through a number of tools and mechanisms. Typically, these tools and mechanisms are outlined in the constitution and other regulatory texts such as the parliament's internal procedures. The specifics of how a parliament can utilise its oversight prerogative depends upon the existence of a legal framework, which consolidates the position of the parliament as an oversight institution and guarantees its powers and independence within the political system. Thus, while reforming the structure of the political system to increase a parliament’s constitutionally given oversight capacities may not always be feasible, in some instances, parliaments can improve their oversight capacities by reforming their own rules. For example, a good practice for committee systems is to assign a single committee to each government ministry. The parliamentary budget permitting, such reforms are usually within the powers of the parliament to implement.

Objectives of Parliamentary Oversight
Parliamentarians conduct oversight in order to:

  1. Ensure transparency and openness of executive activities. Parliaments shed light on the operations of government by providing a public arena in which the policies and actions of government are debated, scrutinised, and subjected to public opinion;
  2. Hold the executive branch accountable. Parliamentary oversight scrutinises whether the government’s policies have been implemented and whether they are having the desired impact;
  3. Provide financial accountability. Parliaments approve and scrutinise government spending by highlighting waste within publicly funded services. Their aim is to improve the economy, efficiency and effectiveness of government expenditure; and,
  4. Uphold the rule of law. Parliament should protect the rights of citizens by monitoring policies and examining potential abuses of power, arbitrary behavior, and illegal or unconstitutional conduct by government.

Tools and Mechanisms of Parliamentary Oversight
Parliaments have an array of tools at their disposal for conducting oversight. The most common tools include: questions to ministers (oral and written), interpellation, and votes of no confidence. Other tools include mechanisms related to budgetary oversight, impeachment, and the possibility for the parliament to establish ad-hoc committees, commissions of inquiry or an ombudsman’s office. Several of these tools are described below:

  1. Hearings, either in plenary or committee meetings, are a primary tool of parliaments for obtaining information related to specific policies or issues. Nearly all parliaments conduct hearings. However, parliaments have varying capacities to compel individuals to give testimony.
  2. The vote of no confidence, or motion of censure, is a motion presented by parliamentarians that results in either the withdrawal or the confirmation of the Parliament’s confidence in the government or one of its ministers. When a parliament withdraws its confidence in the government, the cabinet usually resigns or seeks a parliamentary dissolution. In some countries, withdrawls of confidence lead to a process in which the head of state either calls for the resignation of the government or the dissolution of the parliament. Where the rules allow for a parliament to withdraw its confidence in a single minister, that individual typically resigns. There are many variations to the procedures governing votes of no confidence.
  3. Interpellation refers to a formal procedure used by parliamentarians to require the justification of a certain policy by an individual member of government or, in some countries, the government in full. It can give way to broad debates on the policy at hand or lead to a vote approving or disapproving the issue discussed. This may be followed by a vote of no confidence.
  4. Parliamentary questions are the most commonly used oversight tool. Questions are intended to clarify or discuss government policies and may lead to interpellation, where the rules permit, if the answer is not satisfactory. In order to properly monitor the executive, it is essential for members of parliament to be properly informed of the policies of the executive and its ministries. Government responses to parliamentary questions may lead to the publication of valuable information. Questions can often be asked in oral or written form, although oral question and answer sessions may provide a dramatic atmosphere and opportunity for response and follow-up by either side. Consequently, the organisation of these sessions is essential to effective parliamentary oversight.
  5. Committees of inquiry are usually ad-hoc parliamentary committees or commissions formed to carry out in-depth investigations on specific issues of public importance. These commissions usually benefit from a greater degree of access to information than normal committees. Their powers may include summoning witnesses to testify under oath, confronting one witness with another, requesting or seizing documents, ordering searches, organising field visits, and more. In some countries, these commissions may possess the same powers as a magistrate making a judicial inquiry. Committees of inquiry are a commonly used oversight instrument in parliaments around the world and may be used to investigate important cases of corruption or abuse of power.
  6. Budget oversight is a means used by parliaments to ensure financial accountability. After the state budget has been passed, the parliament has an important role to play in monitoring how the budget funds are spent.  This work is usually done by one key committee (i.e. - Public Accounts Committee; Budget & Finance Committee) but can also be done by other functional committees.  Such scrutinising is often done in cooperation with a state auditing institution or an anti-corruption commission.  
  7. Supreme audit institutions, such as the auditor general (in Commonwealth countries), or Cours des Comptes (in Francophone countries) facilitate ex-post budget oversight by playing a “watchdog” role and reporting its findings either publically or directly to parliament. Supreme audit institutions monitor how the government uses the public purse and informs the parliament of its observations. In Commonwealth countries, the auditor general reports to the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), which scrutinises the findings of the audit and makes recommendations accordingly.
  8. An ombudsman, in some countries, is appointed by parliament in order to conduct investigations of public authorities on the basis of complaints or requests by the parliament.  An ombudsman typically scrutinises whether the workings of the administration or the offending actions are in accordance with the principles of good governance. As such, they play an important role in examining government transparency and openness. An ombudsman tries to find practical solutions to the problems they are tasked with and assume a role of conciliation between the public and the authorities.
  9. Special standing committees are provided for in the internal rules of some parliaments to systematically oversee the government with regards to highly sensitive issues such as national security, defense, and military procurement policies.
  10. Review and confirmation of executive appointees is a power that allows some parliaments to scrutinise executive appointees to high public office, the judiciary, state run companies, and the like. 

Strengthening the oversight function of parliament
It is important for a parliament’s institutional and legal framework to encourage MPs to make effective use of their powers of oversight. Aside from the provision of oversight tools, this framework should provide for the independence of the parliamentary institution and the immunity of the MPs. These protections allow MPs to challenge the executive without fear of retaliation against their person. The parliament’s legal framework should also include rights, such as access to information, that give them the capacity to demand documentation and conduct inquiries that reach the heart of the government. 

Even in this functional area, the nature of the linkages between parliamentarians and citizens can have a strong impact on MPs’ incentives to conduct effective oversight. For example, an electoral design in which political party leaders determine which operatives will obtain the top positions on the party’s electoral lists may encourage a passive back-bench. When an MPs’ re-election depends entirely on the whims of party leaders, it is unlikely that they will challenge the authority of their leaders. Systems in which the party rank and file select their party’s candidates through a vote may permit the eventual MP more freedom to question her party and government leaders.

 

For more information regarding parliament and oversight, please also see:

Parliamentary oversight of the security sector.

Parliament's role in ensuring financial accountability.

Parliamentary oversight and combatting corruption.