أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) أجندة لما بعد العام 2015

صورة AGORA administrator

يمكن أن يؤدّي البرلمانييون دورًا محوريًا في إعادة التفكير في الطريقة التي يتمّ بها إنتاج السياسات وتنفيذها. يمكنكم أن تساعدوا على توجيه البرامج الوطنية نحو تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة. ويمكنكم إيصال وجهات نظر مواطنيكم وتطلّعاتهم إلى المضمار العالمي. ومن خلال المساعدة الإنمائية الرسميّة والموارد المحليّة، يمكنكم أيضًا ضمان تلقّي جهود التنمية المستدامة التمويل الذي تحتاج اليه. كما تستطيعون تعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في مجتمعاتكم. ومن خلال هذه الطرق مجتمعة، يمكن للبرلمانيين دفع حملتنا العالمية نحو مستقبل أكثر إنصافًا واستدامة.

بان كي مون، الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، 26 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2013

 

لمحة عامة

في أيلول/سبتمبر 2015، اجتمع قادة العالم في الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة من أجل إطلاق خطة للتنمية المستدامة جديدة وطموحة. وتستند الخطة إلى التقدم المحرز منذ إعلان الألفية، وتسعى إلى الحد من الفقر وعدم المساواة، وتحسين حياة الأفراد، وتعزيز السلام والأمن والحكم الرشيد وسيادة القانون. وفي هذا الشأن ساعد العديد من الأصوات، بما في ذلك أصوات  البرلمانيين، على تشكيل أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs).

قبل 15 عامًا، أصدرت الأمم المتحدة الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية (MDGs) كأحدث مبادرة من جانبها لتسهيل التنمية الدولية. وفي حين يُعتبر ذلك إشارة قوية على الالتزام، لم تتحقق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية بالكامل.

وكاستجابة للتحديات العالمية المتزايدة، أطلقت الأمم المتحدة أحد أكبر برامج التشاور في تاريخها لإيجاد حل جديد، نتج عنه جدول أعمال يتضمن 17 هدفًا من أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) والتي تهدف إلى التركيز على التنمية الدولية في أبعاد ثلاث - وهي الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية.

إن أهداف التنمية المستدامة المقترحة في الأصل من قبل الفريق العامل المفتوح باب العضوية المعني بأهداف التنمية المستدامة (OWG) في مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة في ريو دي جانيرو في حزيران/يونيو 2012 (Rio+20)، هي مجموعة تتكون من 17 هدفًا و169 غاية تشكل نموذجًا جديدًا يمكن من خلاله للدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة السعي لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة. كما تمثل الأهداف السبعة عشر إطارًا للدول الأعضاء لوضع السياسات التي تكفل تحسين أحوال العالم وسكانه في غضون السنوات الخمس عشر المقبلة.

ستحل أهداف التنمية المستدامة محل الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية (MDGs) عند انتهاء العمل بها في نهاية العام 2015. وعلى عكس الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية التي ركزَّت على البلدان النامية، يمكن تطبيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة عالميًا وقد خضعت لعمل مكثف لوضع مؤشرات تُتيح لأصحاب المصلحة قياس مدى نجاح أهداف التنمية المستدامة في تحقيق الأهداف النهائية للقضاء على الفقر والجوع، وتحقيق المساواة وتوفير فرص التعليم، ومواجهة التحديات البيئية.

وفي 25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2015، وأثناء انعقاد الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في نيويورك، تبنت الدول الأعضاء أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، اعتبارًا من بداية العام 2016 حتى العام 2030، ما يمهد الطريق لحل مشكلة الفقر، والأمن الغذائي، والمساواة بين الجنسين والتغيرات المناخية.

بينما يلزم أن تحظى أهداف التنمية المستدامة في إطارها النظري بالنجاح، إلا إنها تتطلب تطبيق آلية عملية لتحقيق أهدافها – وهي الآلية التي ستقررها الدول الأعضاء بحلول نهاية العام. وستتحمل البرلمانات الوطنية وغيرها من الجهات المعنية مسؤولية إيجاد خطة عملية مناسبة لمساعدة الأمم المتحدة في مهمة الرصد.

إذًا، فما هي على وجه التحديد هذه الأهداف والغايات؟ وما هو سبب أهميتها؟ وكيف سيجري تنفيذها وتطبيقها؟ ومن هم أصحاب المصلحة؟ يعرض القسم التالي الأجوبة على هذه الأسئلة، ويقدم لمحة عامة حول العمل الذي تم القيام به حتى الآن.

1. المعتقدات والمبادئ المشتركة: تطورت أهداف التنمية المستدامة بعد مرحلة طويلة من المشاوارات التي حددت خلالها الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة الآراء والمبادئ المشتركة التي تستند إليها الأهداف. ولم تشكل هذه الآراء الغايات والأهداف النهائية فقط، بل إنها تعتبر حاسمة للتعاون فيما يتعلق بـأهداف التنمية المستدامة كي تلقى النجاح.

2. أهداف التنمية المستدامة كخطة عالمية: حيث تستهدف الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية البلدان النامية على وجه الحصر، تعمل أهداف التنمية المستدامة على استهداف جميع الدول والأفراد دون تمييز. كما تستهدف أيضًا مجموعة أوسع بكثير من أصحاب المصلحة والشركاء.

3. أهداف التنمية المستدامة ودور البرلمانات: البرلمانات هي العامل القوي لإحداث التغيير. فمن خلال المصادقة على الاتفاقات الدولية، وترجمة أهداف التنمية المستدامة إلى قوانين وطنية قابلة للتنفيذ تستجيب لأولويات التنمية الخاصة بكل بلد، ومراقبة تنفيذها وضمان وجود حكومة مسؤولة أمام الشعب من أجل التقدم الوطني وفقاً لأهداف أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، يمكن للبرلمانات الحثّ على هذا التغيير.

4. تمويل أهداف التنمية المستدامة: لكي تحظى هذه الخطة الدولية بالنجاح، يجب تخصيص الموارد المالية المناسبة. ففي تموز/يوليو 2015، اجتمع رؤساء الدول في أديس أبابا وأصدروا خطة عمل لدعم الدول في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، بما في ذلك من خلال تعبئة الموارد المحلية.

5. مؤشرات أهداف التنمية المستدامة وتقييمها: أصدر مجلس قيادة شبكة حلول التنمية المستدامة دراسة تعمل على وضع مخطط إطار عمل مكون من 100 مؤشر رصد عالمي، وذلك استنادًا إلى خبرات من جميع أنحاء العالم. ويهدف إطار عمل المؤشرات إلى تحويل الأهداف إلى أدوات إدارية وبطاقة تقرير في نهاية المطاف، والذي من شأنه أن يساعد أصحاب المصلحة في رصد مدى تنفيذ وتقدم أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

 

نقاط العمل البرلمانية حول أهداف التنمية المستدامة

إن أصوات البرلمانيين من بين العديد من الأصوات التي ساعدت على تشكيل خطة أهداف التنمية المستدامة العالمية. والآن بعد أن تم  اعتماد أهداف التنمية المستدامة رسميًا ، من المتوقع أن يعمل البرلمانيون على ترجمتها إلى تشريعات وسياسات قابلة للتنفيذ على المستوى الوطني.

انظر: نقاط العمل البرلمانية 

 

 

للمزيد من الموارد حول أهداف التنمية المستدامة انظر: UN Global Compact Library

Error message

The file could not be created.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Post 2015 Agenda

AGORA administrator's picture

“Parliamentarians can play a central role in rethinking the way policies are produced and carried out. You can help to orient national programmes towards sustainable development goals. You can bring the views and aspirations of your citizens into the global arena. Through official development assistance and domestic resources, you can ensure that sustainable development efforts receive the financing they need. You can also promote gender equality among your own ranks. In all these ways, parliamentarians can drive our global campaign to usher in a more equitable and sustainable future.

Ban Ki-Moon, Secretary-General of the United Nations, 26 Nov 2013

 

Overview

In September 2015, world leaders gathered at the UN General Assembly to launch an ambitious new Sustainable Development Agenda. It has been built on progress made since the Millennium Declaration, and seeks to reduce poverty and inequality, improve people’s lives, and promote peace, security, good governance, and the rule of law.  Many voices, including those of parliamentarians, have helped shape the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
15 years ago, the United Nations issued its Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) as its newest initiative to facilitate international development.  While a strong sign of commitment, The MDGs were not fully achieved.

As a response to increasing global challenges the United Nations launched one of the biggest consultation programs in its history to find a new solution, resulting in an agenda of 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) designed to focus international development along three dimensions – economic, social and environmental.
Originally proposed by the Open Working Group on Sustainable Development (OWG) at the United Nations Conference in Rio de Janeiro in June 2012 (Rio+20), the SDGs are a set of 17 goals and 169 targets that form a new paradigm through which the UN member states seek to secure sustainable development. The 17 goals are a framework for member states in creating policies that assure the betterment of the world and its inhabitants within the next 15 years.
The SDGs will replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) upon their expiration at the end of 2015. Unlike the MDGs, which focused on developing countries, the SDGs are universally applicable and have undergone intensive work to develop indicators that allow stakeholders to measure the success of SDGs in achieving the ultimate goals of ending poverty and hunger, realizing equality and education, and confronting environmental challenges.

On the 25th of September 2015, during the United Nations General Assembly in New York, the member states adopted the SDGs, effective from the beginning of 2016 until 2030, thus paving the path to solving poverty, food security, gender equality and climate change.
While in their theoretical framework the SDGs should be successful, they require the application of a practical mechanism to achieve their targets – a mechanism that member states will decide upon by the end of the year. It will be the responsibility of the national parliaments and the other stakeholders to find a suitable practical agenda to help the UN in its role of monitoring.
So what specifically are these goals and targets? Why are they important? How will they be implemented and carried out? Who are the stakeholders? The following section presents the answers and provides an overview on the work which has been done to date.

1. Common beliefs and Principles: The SDGs were developed after a long consultation phase during which UN member states identified the common beliefs and principles that underpin the goals.  These beliefs have not only shaped the ultimate aims and objectives, but are deemed critical for cooperation on the SDGs to be successful.  

2. The Sustainable Development Goals as Global Agenda: Whereas the MDGs exclusively targeted developing countries, the SDGs target all countries and individuals indiscriminately. The SDGs also target a much wider range of stakeholders and partners.

3. SDGs and the Role of Parliaments: Parliaments are powerful agents of change. It is by ratifying international agreements, translating the SDGs into enforceable national laws that respond to country-specific development priorities, monitoring their implementation and ensuring government is accountable to the people for national progress on the SDGs, that parliaments can drive that change. 

4. Financing the SDGs: For this international agenda to succeed, appropriate financial resources need to be allocated.  In July 2015, heads of nations gathered in Addis Ababa and issued an Action Agenda to support the countries in fulfilling the SDGs, including through domestic resource mobilization.

5. SDGs Indicators and Evaluation: The leadership Council of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network issued a study that maps a framework of 100 Global Monitoring Indicators, based on the expertise from all around the world. The indicators framework aims to turn the goals into management tools and an eventual report card, which should help stakeholders track the implementation and progress of the SDGs.

 

Parliamentary Action Points on the SDGs

Parliamentarians were among the many voices that helped shaped the global SDGs agenda. Now that the SDGs have officially been adopted, parliamentarians are expected to translate the SDGs into actionable legislation and policies at the national level.
See: Parliamentary Action Points

 

For resources on SDGs please see UN Global Compact Library