أهداف التنمية المستدامة: برنامج عمل للجميع

صورة AGORA administrator

أهداف التنمية المستدامة: برنامج عمل عالمي

تمثل أهداف التنمية المستدامة التزام من قبل الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة من خلال مواجهة أهم التحديات العالمية ذات الصلة بالحقائق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية الحالية. وتضم أهداف التنمية المستدامة 17 هدفًا و 169 غاية محددة لتحسين الظروف المعيشية للجميع، دون تمييز.

وتُجسّد خطة أهداف التنمية المستدامة التزام الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة لمواصلة مبادرة الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية، وهو أمر ضروري لمزيد من التحسينات العالمية. وتُلزم أهداف التنمية المستدامة كل بلد بدفق من الأهداف الدولية على المستويين الوطني والمحلي من أجل تنفيذ وتحقيق الأهداف والغايات. وكي يتسنى تحفيز النمو في دول أقل تجهيزًا، تدعم تلك الدول التي يرتفع لديها مستوى التنمية وتتوافر لديها الموارد الكافية نظيراتها من خلال المشاركة في الخطط وبرامج العمل العالمية.

كلفت الحكومات الوطنية المشاركة في الصياغة والتشكيل الأمم المتحدة مسؤولية إدارة أهداف التنمية المستدامة والإشراف عليها. كما سيتم تكليف المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى المعني بالتنمية المستدامة (HLPF)، الذي أنشأته الأمم المتحدة عام 2012، بمهمة متابعة واستعراض أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

إن خطة أهداف التنمية المستدامة هي حجر أساس في العمل المستقبلي للأمم المتحدة، حيث تنير الطريق للسنوات الخمس عشر المقبلة للتنمية المستدامة. ويعتمد الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم على التغيرات والتطورات التي تعد هذه الخطة بتوفيرها وهم بانتظارها.

خلال صياغة أهداف التنمية المستدامة وإعدادها، كان من الضروري التعرف على آراء الجمهور فيما يتعلق بالأولويات التي يريدونها في الخطة الجديدة. وهكذا، تم إجراء دراسة استقصائية عالمية تحمل اسم "عالمي"، تجمع ردود من 1.6 مليون شخص من 190 دولة وإقليم من أجل التأكد من أهداف الخطة الجديدة للتنمية لما بعد العام 2015.

أسفرت الدراسة الاستقصائية عن رأي الأفراد بشأن مجالات التنمية التي يرغبون في رؤيتها. واحتل "التعليم الجيد "و"الرعاية الصحية الأفضل" المرتبتين الأولى والثانية بين الأولويات. ودفعت أصوات الأفراد غرس مبدأ "حكومات صادقة وفعالة" إلى المركز الثالث، كرمز لتطلعات الشعب لإقامة حكومة مستقرة ومشاركة وتمثيلية. وطالبت ردود أخرى بإعطاء الأولوية للقضاء على الفقر المدقع وخلق الفرص وتحسين الخدمات العامة وتسهيلات السلام والأمن والإدارة المستدامة والعادلة للموارد الطبيعية. ومن هنا أخذت أهداف التنمية المستدامة بنتائج الدراسة الاستقصائية بعين الاعتبار. فالهدف رقم 16، "تعزيز مجتمعات سِلمية وشاملة للتنمية المستدامة، والعدالة للجميع، وبناء مؤسسات فعالة ومسؤولة وشاملة على جميع المستويات"، يتوافق مع رغبة الأفراد في تواجد حكومات نزيهة وفعالة.

الشركاء وأصحاب المصلحة في أهداف التنمية المستدامة

يجب على كل منظمة أو مؤسسة أو حكومة أو فرد فهم أهداف التنمية المستدامة، في إطار تأثيرها الكبير وانتشارها. كما تدعو الأمم المتحدة أيضًا الجميع إلى القيام بدور نشط في تنفيذ خطة أهداف التنمية المستدامة من أجل مستقبل أفضل.

من الضروري أن تشارك الفئات المستهدفة والمستفيدة من أهداف التنمية المستدامة بشكل صحيح، وأن يتم تمكينها وإشراكها في التطوير والتنفيذ بحيث تتمكن الأمم المتحدة من الوفاء بوعود هذه المبادرة.

وتستهدف الأمم المتحدة منذ اعتماد جدول الأعمال 21 للتنمية المستدامة عام 1992، تسع مجموعات تالية تمثل أهم المستفيدين الذين يجب مشاركتهم واستشارتهم لكي يكون لأهداف التنمية المستدامة أثراً ملموساً:

1. المرأة

2. الأطفال والشباب

3. الشعوب الأصلية

4. المنظمات غير الحكومية

5. السلطات المحلية

6. العمال ونقابات العمال

7. الأعمال والصناعة

8. المجتمعات العلمية والتكنولوجية

9. المزارعون

نتج هذا التصنيف عن الإقرار بأن الحكومات لا يمكنها تحقيق التنمية المستدامة دون دعم من المستفيدين الذين يشكلون هذه الجماعات.

وأكدت الوثيقة الختامية لجدول أعمال أديس أبابا (AAAA) على دعوة قطاع الأعمال والصناعة إلى القيام بدور حيوي في السنوات الـ 15 المقبلة إلى جانب حكوماته، ليس فقط على المستوى الوطني بل على الساحة الدولية أيضًا، فسوف تحفز الاستثمارات التنمية وتعود بالفائدة على الجميع دون تمييز. وستمهد الشراكة القوية بين القطاعين العام والخاص الطريق لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة. فقطاعات الأعمال مدعوة إلى التعامل مع الحكومات من خلال اقتراحات ومقترحات بشأن نوع الدعم التي تود في تقديمه لتنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة. وفي المقابل يجب على الحكومات توفير استثمارات عادلة أكثر يسرًا لقطاعات الأعمال، وضمان إطار قانوني لها، خاصةً في البلدان النامية. يمكن لأعضاء البرلمان أيضًا تولي زمام المبادرة باقتراح قانون جديد يخفض الضرائب على المشاريع التي تهدف إلى تنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة. كما يمكن لأعضاء البرلمان توفير المزيد من تخفيف القيود المفروضة على قطاعات الأعمال التي يُسهم نموها في التنمية الوطنية. وهذه الحوافز ستشجع المستثمرين وقطاعات الأعمال على العمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع مؤسسات الدولة.

في نهاية المطاف، سيعمل جميع أصحاب المصلحة، والمجتمع المدني، والمؤسسات الأكاديمية والشركات على إنشاء شبكة تعمل على تحقيق التنمية المستدامة.

يحظى الهدف رقم 16 بقيمة خاصة ليس فقط بحد ذاته، ولكن أيضا لكامل جدول أعمال عام 2030. حيث يمهد الهدف رقم 16 الطريق لتحقيق أهداف أخرى. فتعزيز مجتمع سلمي وشامل هو الخطوة الأولى نحو تحقيق التنمية المستدامة. يشكل عدم الاستقرار والصراعات في مختلف أنحاء العالم تحديات أثناء تنفيذ الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية. وبالتالي، يدعو الهدف رقم 16 إلى اتخاذ إجراءات مخصصة نحو مجتمعات آمنة، حيث تتوفر العدالة في مجتمع شامل وبواسطة مؤسسات الدولة المعنية التي تخضع للمساءلة.

يشير التعبير مجتمع سلمي وشامل إلى مجتمع تتوفر للجميع فيه حقوق متساوية، وفرص متكافئة وتتوفر لديهم الخدمات بغض النظر عن العقيدة أو اللون أو الجنس أو الرأي السياسي والعرق. ومن المتوقع أن تُقر الدول الأعضاء السلام وتأمين المواطنين ضد أي نوع من أنواع العنف أو القمع أو التخويف.

"السلام هو الحالة المواتية للتنمية المستدامة في حين يمثل الصراع العنيف أحد أكبر المعوقات التي تحول دون تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة. فقد ازدادت الفجوة في الأداء بين الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية بين البلدان النامية المتأثرة بالنزاع وغيرها من البلدان النامية. وإذا لم نُعالج المشكلة، بحلول العام 2015، من المتوقع أن يعيش أكثر من 50 في المائة من فقراء العالم في دول هشة متضررة من الصراع، ومن المتوقع أن ترتفع هذه النسبة المئوية إلى 82 في المائة بحلول العام 2025. ومع وضع هذا في الاعتبار في بداية المفاوضات، ساد الاعتراف بأن "السلام والحكم الرشيد من العناصر الأساسية للرفاهية، وليست مجرد إضافات اختيارية". (مقابلة شخصية مع باتريك)

يمكننا إيجاد مجتمع سلمي وشامل من خلال مؤسسات الدولة الموثوقة والمسؤولة. هذه هي الركيزة الأساسية للتنمية وخاصةً في الدول الهشة. تهدف الجهات الدولية الفاعلة، على سبيل المثال برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي UNDP، إلى تعزيز وتحسين هذه المؤسسات لضمان العمل لصالح الشعب. وسيؤدي تعزيز مؤسسات الدولة إلى تمثيل أفضل لاحتياجات وتوقعات الشعوب. ويجب على البرلمانات باعتبارها الهيئة التمثيلية الرئيسية في الدولة أن تلعب دورًا حيويًا في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة وبخاصة تحقيق الهدف رقم 16.
يتطلب تحقيق الهدف رقم 16 قوة وتعاون مشتركين بين البرلمانات والحكومات والمجتمع المدني والمجتمع الدولي، حيث يكون كل جزء بمثابة قيمة مضافة في التنمية الوطنية، ويجب أن يكون العمل والجهود مكملة لبعضها البعض، وأن تكون الشعوب نُصب أعين سياسات التنمية. ينبغي على هذه الأحزاب تحليل احتياجات الشعوب وتوقعاتها وترجمة ذلك إلى سياسات تتناسب مع قدرات المؤسسات، وعند الحاجة يجب أن تتطلب هذه المؤسسات الدعم وفقاً لما ينص عليه برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي. ويهدف الهدف رقم 16 إلى تمكين المؤسسات الوطنية من تهيئة الظروف الآمنة لشعوبها، والحكم بالعدل والمساواة.

Error message

The file could not be created.

Sustainable Development Goals as Global Agenda

AGORA administrator's picture

SDGs: A Global Agenda

The SDGs represent the commitment of the UN member states to achieve sustainable development by facing the major global challenges related to current economic, social and ecological realities. The SDGs include 17 goals and 169 specified targets to improve living conditions for everyone, without discrimination.

The SDGs agenda embodies the commitment of the UN member states to continue the initiative of the MDGs, which is essential for further global improvements. The SDGs task each country with percolating down international objectives to the national and local levels in order to implement and fulfill the goals and targets. In order to catalyze development in less well equipped nations, those with a high level of development and sufficient resources will support their counterparts by participating in the global plans and agendas.

The UN was given governance and oversight responsibility over the SDGs by the national governments that participated in drafting and formation.  The High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (HLPF), created by the UN in 2012, will also be tasked with follow up and review of the SDGs. 

The SDGs agenda is a cornerstone of the future work of the UN.  It lights the path for the next 15 years of sustainable development. People all around the world are relying on and waiting for the changes and development this agenda promises to provide.

During drafting and preparation of the SDGs, it was essential to receive the people´s opinion on the priorities they would like to see in the new agenda. Thus, MY World global survey was conducted, compiling responses from 1.6 million people from 190 states and territories to ascertain objectives for a new, post 2015 development agenda.

The survey resulted the opinion of the people regarding the areas of development they wish to see. ‘Good education’ and ‘better healthcare’ were the first and second priorities. In the third  place people voted for the implantation of ‘honest and effective governments’, emblematic of the aspirations of the people to establish stable participatory and representative government. Other responses called for the prioritization of the elimination of extreme poverty, creation of opportunities, improved public services, facilitations of peace and security and a sustainable and fair management of natural resources. Hence SDGs took the results of the survey in consideration. Goal 16, promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels, corresponds with the desire of people to see honest and effective governments.

SDGs Partners and Stakeholders

It is essential for every organization, institution, government and individual to understand the SDGs, given their considerable impact and reach. The UN also invites everyone to play an active role in implementing the SDGs agenda in order to create a better future.

It is essential that the target groups and beneficiaries of the SDGs are properly engaged, empowered and involved with development and implementation so that the UN can deliver on the promises of this initiative.

Targeted by the UN since the adoption of Agenda 21 on Sustainable Development in 1992, the following nine groups represent important beneficiaries who must be engaged and consulted if the SDGs are to have meaningful impact:

1.      Women

2.      Children and Youth

3.      Indigenous Peoples

4.      Non-Governmental Organizations

5.      Local Authorities

6.      Workers and Trade Unions

7.      Business and Industry

8.      Scientific and Technological Community

9.      Farmers

This categorization resulted from the acknowledgment that governments cannot achieve sustainable development without support from the beneficiaries that comprise these groups.

As Addis Ababa Action Agenda (AAAA) outcome document assured, business and industry are invited to play a vital role in the next 15 years alongside their governments – not only on a national level but on the international stage as well, as investments will catalyze development and benefit all people, without discrimination. A strong partnership between the private and public sectors paves the way for the achievement of the SDGs. Businesses are invited to approach their governments with suggestions and proposals on the type of assistance they wish to offer for implementing the SDGs. The governments in return shall make fair investments more accessible to businesses, and secure them a legal framework especially in the developing countries. MPs can also take the initiative by suggesting new law that lowers the taxes on projects aiming to achieve the SDGs. MPs can further ease the restrictions on businesses whose growth contributes to national development. These incentives will encourage the investors and businesses to work together with state institutions.

Eventually, all stakeholders, civil society, academic institutions and corporations will create a network working towards sustainable development

 

 

GOAL 16

Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels

Goal 16 has a particular value not only for its own, but also for the whole 2030 Agenda. Goal 16 paves the way to achieve the other goals. Promoting peaceful and inclusive society is a primary step towards sustainable development. Instability and conflicts around the world posed challenges during the implementation of the MDGs. Therefore, goal 16 calls for dedicated actions towards secure societies, where justice is delivered in an inclusive society and by accountable and competent state institutions.

Peaceful and inclusive society refers to a society in which all people have the equal rights, enjoy equal opportunities and have the access to services, regardless their faith, color, gender, political opinion and race. Member states are expected to endorse peace and secure the citizens from any kind of violence, oppression or intimidation.

Peace is an enabling condition for sustainable development while violent conflict is one of the greatest obstacles to the achievement of the SDGs. The gap in MDG performance between conflict-affected and other developing countries has been large and has been increasing. If we don’t address the problem, by 2015, more than 50 per cent of the world’s poor are likely to live in conflict-affected and fragile states and this percentage is projected to increase to 82 per cent by 2025. With this in mind, at the start of the negotiations, there was a recognition that “peace and good governance are core elements of wellbeing, and not optional extras”.  Patrick Keuleers, UNDP’s Chief of Profession in Governance and Peacebuilding

Peaceful and inclusive society is to be delivered by a reliable and accountable state institutions. These are the core of development especially in fragile states. International actors, e.g. UNDP, aim to enhance and improve these institutions to assure they function in the benefit of the people. Strengthening state institutions will lead to better representation of the people´s need and expectations. Parliaments as the main representative body in the state must play a vital role in achieving the SDGs and in particular achieving goal 16.

Implementing goal 16 requires joint forces and collaboration between the parliaments, governments, civil society and international community, where each part is an added value to national development, the work and efforts shall be complementary to each other, placing the people in the middle of development policies. These parties have to analyze the people´s needs and expectations and translate them into policies which suit the capacity of the institutions, and when needed these institutions may request support such as the one UNDP provides. Goal 16 aims to enable the national institutions to create secure conditions for their people, and rule by justice and equality.